DeepSpeech model loading time - why is it so fast?

Something which is a pleasant surprise to me when using DeepSpeech is that the model loading time is extremely fast (instantiating the DeepSpeech Model from memory-mapped file).

Typically, I can get loading time in less than 20-30 milliseconds on a fairly standard cloud machine with non-SSD persistent disks.

I’m not a computer scientist and really have no understanding of memory-mapped files, but I’m wondering what allows the model to load so quickly, when the model file itself is ~190 mb? Surely the disk read speed is much lower than what the load time would suggest (it would need to be in the Gb/s). I’m also not seeing any lag upon the initial streaming recognition (which would suggest some sort of page fault lazy loading.

Any disk I/O, or OS expert can offer some explanation of this?

Thanks, I did read the wikipedia entry, and understand the ‘lazy-loading’ part. One thing I failed to mention in my initial question is that I also profiled the initial streaming recognize timing (first chunk of 320 ms audio), I was expecting that if the model is being read from disk as the location is being accessed, upon the first computation through the graph, there will be significant delays. However I did not see any additional lag.

Is it the case that the actual ‘read’ of the model is much less than what the file size suggest (190mb)?
I read about the heap usage here https://hacks.mozilla.org/2018/09/speech-recognition-deepspeech/ of only 20mb, maybe this explains parts of it.