How can I make my thing visible outside the local network?

Hi,
I am a newbie experimenting with WebThings Framework.
I am trying to make my Philps hue bulb & bridge controllable through WebThings Framework but I currently succeeded within just my local network.
Is it possible to make the devices visible outside my local network?
And no, I do not own a raspberry pi :frowning: just a windows PC

Hi junwyoo, welcome!

The safest way to expose web things to the Internet is by using the WebThings Gateway. If you don’t have a Raspberry Pi you can install the software on a Windows PC by following the instructions in the README. Windows isn’t as well tested as Mac OS and Linux, but it should work. (Your PC will obviously have to be turned on whenever you want to use it).

The gateway will give you a free subdomain on the web which uses HTTPS and is password protected for security. You can add web things created using the WebThings Framework by their local URL and the gateway will give them a web URL on the Internet using your registered subdomain.

In the case of Philips Hue you can use either the Zigbee add-on (doesn’t require the Hue bridge) or the Philips Hue add-on (does require the Hue bridge) to control your bulbs over the Internet, without needing to write any of your own code using the WebThings framework.

If you don’t to use the gateway it’s possible to directly expose the web thing to the Internet by configuring your own DNS, NAT and TLS but that is a lot more complicated and requires you to implement your own authentication mechanism to make it safe.

Hope this helps, feel free to ask further questions.

Ben

1 Like

It may be easy to access your WebThings from the internet depending on you knowledge of various networking tools. If you only have Windows, you will need to install SSH, but the solution is basically the same.

Minimum steps: