Install DeepSpeech programmatically on Windows

Say I want to install Python + DeepSpeech on a Windows machine without the user having to do anything. How would I do this? Could I not just unpack an archive containing the Python interpreter and the deepspeech module to some directory? Or am I overlooking something?

(Sorry, I’m not a Python expert… )

Many greetings

Inference ? Training ?

I need just inference, not training

You don’t need to use the python bindings, you can use others as well, including .Net or C++. What are you building exactly ?

Oh, yeah that sounds better. I have a Java application that just wants to run audio samples through a standard English DeepSpeech model.

So, we have Java bindings, but they are currently limited to Android. We would welcome any effort to make that not limited to Android, but we are not java-ists, so we need some help there :slight_smile:

I see, thanks. Making a Java binding sounds complicated, I don’t know if I’ll have the time…

Can’t we make a simple deepspeech-recognize.exe using the C bindings that you pass an audio file to on the command line?

The Java bindings already exists, it’s just that we only build and ship them on Android, and thus we don’t know if / how much it works on other platforms.

You can, but you will have much less efficient use of the API …

Again what are you building exactly ?

I am building desktop chat bots that are supposed to constantly listen to speech input. I have a (rudimentary) VAD and send audio clips to either wit.ai or locally installed speech engines.

You can, but you will have much less efficient use of the API …

You mean performance-wise?

Well, kind of. With your description, it makes 100% sense to use streaming in the API, which is going to be super-inefficient if you constantly fork a new process.

IMHO you’ll spend more time writing your C / C++ small binary and making that work efficiently than help us on the Java binding and directly integrate properly into your app.