Load packaged assets (images) into array

Hi, I am working on my first addon. Its essentially just a glorified homepage/newtab page. I’ll be referring to the images dir going forward.

├── home-paper-style.png
├── ico
│   ├── dark.png
│   └── light.png
├── images
│   ├── black-swan-dark.jpg
│   ├── black-swan-light.jpg
│   ├── bladerunner-dark.jpg
│   ├── bladerunner_02-dark.jpg
│   ├── ex-machina-dark.jpg
│   ├── ex-machina-light.jpg
│   
├── manifest.json
├── script.js
├── startpage.html
├── styles
│   ├── Hack.ttf
│   ├── colors_lunar.css
│   ├── colors_paper.css
│   ├── style_lunar.css
│   └── style_paper.css
└── web-ext-artifacts
    └── home-1.0.zip

For now this is just a mini project to get familiar with js/html, this is my first time doing anything with it. I do not plan on publishing this unless it evolves into something generally useful.

Whenever a newtab is loaded I am injecting a random image from images/.

function getRandomImage() {
	var images = ["black-swan-dark.jpg","black-swan-light.jpg","suspiria-dark.jpg"];
	return images[Math.floor(Math.random() * images.length)];
} 

I plan on adding many more images and manually populating the array like above seems tedious. With nodejs I would just do something like:

var fs = require('fs');
var images = fs.readdirSync('images/');
return images[Math.floor(Math.random() * images.length)];

What would be the equivalent within the context of a webextension? Since these are packaged assets and not reading directly from the users filesystem I figure there has to be a way to read the images folder into an array.

I have read through the firefox webextension doc and examples but I am still a bit lost.

Any pointers would be very appreciated. Thanks for your time.

1 Like

I’m not sure it’s possible.
I had a similar problem and I’ve ended up simply naming the files “0.svg”, “1.svg”, “2.svg”… and then using random number to access random image.