Version 96 destroyed all of my settings and will NOT permit me to use old profile

Come on, people. New versions should NOT wipe out all settings, links, etc.

Old stuff should automatically be converted to new formats.

I got back my bookmarks eventually, but icons and other settings disappeared. This is NOT user friendly to say the least