Ability to detect name of active webform control?

Hello all,

As a volunteer, I am helping our local archive to digitize scans of ancient documents. But, since I am an experienced programmer, I would like to make things easier. For that reason I have already created a number of AutoHotKey scripts. These scripts show some ‘most recently used’ names and places and show options in menu’s. This works fine.

At this moment I am trying to improve the process further. For that purpose, I would need to be able to detect (in AutoHotKey) which webform control ‘has focus’. The webforms are maintained by an external company, so I cannot influence them directly.

Basically, the process encompasses two forms:

Webforms

If I could read the name of the control which has focus, I could limit the hotkeys to specific controls and show options, based on the active control too.

Would it be possible to ‘send’ the name of the active control to AutoHotKey using an AddOn and are there any resources which already do stuff like that?
Thanks in advance!

Ability to detect name of active webform control?

That’s a bit tricky. I’m afraid there isn’t a single straightforward answer because the “name” of a field from the end user’s point of view doe may not clearly match the underlying form elements.

HTML form elements hav the concept of a “name” attribute, but this doesn’t match what the user sees. Rather, it’s used for other purposes like matching a form’s input element and label element.

In the case of the screenshot you shared, it looks like the “name” of the fields is actually comes from the placeholder attribute on the input field.

If a site uses a UI framework or implements their own custom solution, the “form elements” seen by the end user may be hevily customized or they might not even use the web’s built-in form elements at all.