Change the value of <input> with code

Hey,
I recently started programming an Add-on for Firefox. I am trying to change the value of an input field with code. I tried using

document.getElementById("email").value = "test@test.com"

But that doesn’t work
(Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist)
I could not find any documentation for Element.value so I don’t know if I am missing some permissions.

manifest.json

{

"manifest_version": 2,

"name": "Email Manager",

"version": "1.0",

"description": "Test Add-on",

"icons": {

"48": "test-icon.png"

},

"content_scripts": [

{

"matches": ["<all_urls>"],

"js": ["email-manager.js"]

}

]

}

email-manager.js

document.getElementById("email").value = "test@test.com"

Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.

That kind of message usually occurs when sending a message to a tab or to the background, and the script that is listening for messages didn’t load or run properly. Since your manifest only shows one script, you probably are not using sendMessage().

I wonder whether that error is coming from another extension?

I could not find any documentation for Element.value so I don’t know if I am missing some permissions.

Probably not a permission issue. It’s a text input? .value looks correct to me based on https://developer.mozilla.org/docs/Web/HTML/Element/input/text.

Are you sure the element has that id? Sometimes form elements only have the name attribute and not an id…

1 Like

Thanks for your quick answer!

I looked up my test website (Epic Games Login) again and the Id is indeed “email”:

<input aria-invalid="true" autocomplete="username" id="email" name="email" placeholder="E-Mail-Adresse" type="text" inputmode="text" aria-label="E-Mail-Adresse" autocorrect="off" autocapitalize="none" spellcheck="false" class="MuiInputBase-input MuiInput-input MuiInputBase-inputAdornedEnd" value="">