Confused about a Note in Supporting older browsers article

Hi

I am studying CSS on MDN. In this article, https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Learn/CSS/CSS_layout/Supporting_Older_Browsers, there is a note which says " Note: The clear property also has no effect once the cleared item becomes a grid item, so you could have a layout with a cleared footer, which is then turned into a Grid Layout. My confusion is Shouldn’t it need to say " once the floated item becomes grid item " instead of " once the cleared item becomes a grid item ". Same in the below line " floated footer " instead of " cleared footer ".

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi Ali,

The code snippet above that note use the float property to align the three items inside a container to support older browser. The paragraph above the snippet says that the float property will be ignored if the element is a grid item. Since clear and float can be used toghether to avoid some tedious “bug”. The note correctly says that the clear property is also has no effect if the element is a grid item.

I hope to have been clear (with the hope that you’re not a grid item :smiley: )

1 Like

I do think that might be clearer. Especially since the clear property does not even appear in code on this page. Do you want to file an issue for this on the content repo? I am happy to assist you if needed.

The easiest way would be to click the “Report a problem with this content on GitHub” link at the bottom of the page you linked to.

Schalk
Staff Community Manager - MDN Web Docs

3 Likes

Hi,