Data distribution among sets

Hi all,

I am a researcher working on a better machine understanding of pathological speech. I have already been working with /de/ Commonvoice and found that data is partitioned in a very specific way. Among the different partitions, I found one for train/dev/test. From a data science perspective, I strongly appreciate this effort. What I wonder is: Do these splits assert that one speaker does not appear in more than one of the three sets? Usually, you want to make sure that samples of a speaker are assigned to only one split to make sure you validate on “unseen” speakers.

Hey @PKlumpp,

"Each test/train/dev set is generated non-deterministically, meaning that they will vary from release to release even for minor updates. This is to avoid reproducing and perpetuating any demographic skews in each subsequent set. "

For more details on the metadata please check out the github: https://github.com/common-voice/cv-dataset

I would love to learn more about your project, if you would like to please feel free to share on this thread: Talk to us! How are you using Common Voice?

1 Like

Hey there! Thanks for getting in contact with us. That is correct. One speaker per set, one sentence per set.

2 Likes

Thanks for the quick response! What I do not understand is how you enforce this partitioning. If a speaker recorded their audio through several sessions, how do you link all these sessions to the respective speaker?

Hi @PKlumpp, each line has a client_id field:

• client_id - hashed UUID of a given user
1 Like

If the user has a profile that is static, otherwise it is per session. That is the best that can be done technically.

2 Likes

And, one user can also have multiple accounts :confused:

1 Like

Hey @PKlumpp apologies I read your message Incorrectly. Thanks, @ftyers and @bozden for responding

3 Likes