DeepSpeech 0.7.3 on Windows Failed to initialize memory mapped model

Hi, I am new to deepspeech and am running into some trouble with the pre-trained model. Everything I see on here isn’t applicable to me so hoping someone has encountered the same issue. The error I am getting is when I try to import the pre-trained model. Unfortunately, the error is not very descriptive at all and just says “RuntimeError: CreateModel failed with ‘Failed to initialize memory mapped model.’ (0x3000)”. Please see below for my sample code.

import deepspeech as ds
ds.Model(r"..\deepspeech\deepspeech-0.7.3-models.pbmm")

I’m running 64bit, Win10, and ds.version() does indeed return 0.7.3. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Are you sure that’s a valid path? Are you sure you’re not running the TFLite version of the DeepSpeech package?

Hi Reuben, thanks for the reply. The path is definitely valid. I believe I’m not using the tflite version (I also tried to load the .tflite file to no avail). How can I double check that I’m not running the tflite version?

Have you tried running the DeepSpeech.py script from command line? Sometimes that output is more descriptive if you have a general problem with your setup.

He’s trying to use the native client, not train a model.

Sorry, the fact that you got this specific error already means you’re not running the TFLite version. This error can only happen due to two things: an invalid path, or a corrupted input file. So I’d double check you can reach that path from Python, for example by running a script like

import os
os.path.exists(r"..\deepspeech\deepspeech-0.7.3-models.pbmm")`

And also try redownloading the model files.

is this a valid path? "../deepspeech/deepspeech-0.7.3-models.pbmm" should be tested

So the path was indeed valid, but because it was on a network drive instead of a local drive it seems like the io lag caused some issues. When I move the file locally, I am able to create the model without issue.