GPU Inference on Jetson Nano

Im currently doing a bachelor thesis where we are looking to deploy DeepSpeech on an NVIDIA Jetson Nano. We followed the following guide to build DeepSpeech 0.6.0: https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/1062327/jetson-nano/deepspeech-for-jetson-nano/. The author says he succesfully build DeepSpeech with CUDA support for the Jetson Nano.

On the other hand reading this article from 23rd of January 2020: https://www.hackster.io/dmitrywat/offline-speech-recognition-on-raspberry-pi-4-with-respeaker-c537e7, the author writes the following when comparing inference times on the Jetson Nano vs the Rasperry Pi 4 as the latter has a faster CPU:
“There are no pre-built binaries for arm64 architecture with GPU support as of this moment, so we cannot take advantage of Nvidia Jetson Nano’s GPU for inference acceleration. I don’t think this task is on DeepSpeech team roadmap, so in the near future I’ll do some research here myself and will try to compile that binary to see what speed gains can be achieved from using GPU.”

So Im a bit confused on whether or not deepspeech is able to use the GPU for inference on the Jetson Nano? I seem to recall answers on forum posts in here where it is suggested that the goal of deepspeech is optimising for inference on CPU’s anyway.

Jetson Nano supports CUDA, we support CUDA. It’s just that we :

• are a small team
  • have limited CI capacities
  • have limited usecase for GPU on those boards
  • don’t have those boards

So it should be possible to build on ARM64 with CUDA enabled, we just don’t provide prebuilt binaries.

I’ve repeated it myself several times, people who would like to contribute support for that are welcome. Cross-compiling is a bit painful with Bazel, but we document it and have it working on ARMv7 as well as ARM64, so it’s definitively possible.

Ok
Appreciate the answer
I must admit, I don’t have any experience with cross-compiling, but would probably like to give it a go at some point