Has Mozilla / Common Voices been approached by public bodies/agencies with strategies to increase voluntary voice gathering and validation?

Hello There!!

I work as a state prosecutor in Brazil. I was wondering if there has been any strategies to increase language corpus. One possible strategy I see is to accept voluntary voice gathering and validation as community services.

I can imagine a separate text corpus that, after internal validation, could be coupled to the brazilian portuguese database for further validation.

Has someone tried this?

What do you mean by “internal validation”?

Those who are doing for public service may not be so throughout on validation as voluntaries on common voices. Also, maybe, we´ll need better control to account those hours for judicial purposes, so we may need to somehow replicate common voices system.

It sounds a great idea to include that in a public service program.
To have an efficient voice recognition system you need different voices.

Taking that in mind you could set up a community service program as the following:

1. The person in question should record 250 sentences, and validate 700 clips.
  2. Next, the person in question should invite 10 people to contribute similar amounts each.
  3. The person in question should gather screenshots of all these contributions and send it to you for confirmation.

I´m afraid this wont work, as we may need to inspect the voice (the person may ask someone else to transcribe/speak/validate on his/her username). Also, he may only print the images and pass to the next one without doing what he was supposed to do.

A new feature has been implemented in Common Voice where you can download your own data and profile information, that way you can can inspect the voice.

You can ask so that they download their data and profile, then pass it to you in a flash drive.

Here is a screenshot:

Hey!

Also worth to mention:

Portuguese is up and running:

I guess this is the european portuguese?