How to handle global engine/game state

So I’m new to ECS architecture but I’m wondering how rigid we are supposed to be with the whole everything is an entity and data is in component classes that have no behavior… thing.

Specifically when it comes to global singleton-y things. For instance, if I’m using PIXI.js to render my game and let’s say I have various different systems that need to communicate with the renderer to, obviously, render, but also maybe, deal with inputs and other things. Do I need to wrap the instance of the PIXI.js renderer in a component and create one entity with that component and then have all systems that need read/write to the renderer query for the entity that has the Renderer component? Or can I just have systems that use the renderer hold a reference to it?

In other words, must all of the engine/game’s data be held in entities/components or is it Ok to have singleton-like classes that hold some global data and some of its related behaviors and have systems hold a reference to those class instances?

From my understanding you want to keep the source of truth as the data in the components. It should then be ok to derive state from here. An example of this would be something like the following:

I have an entity with a sprite component, a transform component and a renderable tag. We then get our render system to to query for these, load up our sprite and set its position and add it to the app stage. You then have two options you can save the sprite into a WeakMap, using the entity as the key, or you can create a system state component. You then do something similar if the item needs to be added to the physics system (as discussed in the previous thread). Some of these libraries allow you to tag the object with a name and do a lookup (see below). Pixi.js, Three.js and Cannon.js can do this.