Javascript for Firefox-Add-on is not loading up

Hello Guys, I’m really new to coding Firefox-Add-ons but I wanted to test out if I can code an Add-on that automatically clicks on “Skip Ad” on Youtube. But after temporarily loading my Add-on my Javascript doesn’t get loaded up. I have tried everything and yes I gave the Add-on all permissions but it won’t start up. I would be really happy if my idea could work out. Thanks for the help in advance.

Can you upload the source code to Github or another website?

Of course here is a link to my github repo:

The content script calls firefox.tabs.onUpdated.addListener().
It must be “browser” instead of “firefox”.

But:
Content scripts can’t use the browser.tabs API, see Content scripts > WebExtension APIs)

browser.tabs.onUpdated.addListener() can only be called from a background script (or an extension page).

You don’t need a background script, though.
Just change

firefox.tabs.onUpdated.addListener((tabId, changeInfo, tab) => {
    if (changeInfo.status === "complete" && tab.url && tab.url.includes("youtube.com/watch")) {
        setTimeout(() => clickSkipButton(tabId), 5000); // Waits 5 seconds
    }
});

to

if (document.URL.includes("youtube.com/watch")) {
    console.log("before settimeout");
    setTimeout(clickSkipButton, 5000); // Waits 5 seconds
    console.log("after settimeout");
}

This works because the default value of “run_at” is “document_idle”, see manifest.json > content_scripts > run_at

If the extension still doesn’t work, it’s probably a permission problem.
The most common kind of problem in Firefox MV3 extensions.

edit:
My call to setTimeout() is different because clickSkipButton() doesn’t need the tabId parameter.
If clickSkipButton() needs any parameters, you can pass them to setTimeout() after the delay parameter, see setTimeout() global function

2 Likes

Ok, thank you really much for your effort and help :smiley: