Learning WebThings - Professional Data Engineer/Scientist

Hi All,
I’m a azure data engineer/Scientist and have been in the profession about 5 years and absolutely love the command that I have over data.
I’m embarking on an extensive home renovation project in the coming months and am setting aside a small portion of the budget for home automation. Naturally being a data engineer I’m reluctant to pay someone to install an IoT system with off the shelf parts (and a little bit jealous of the fun he’ll be having), so will be taking it upon myself to design and setup my own IoT home automation system.

Im starting from the true zero here, so hopefully you all can assist me in my journey.
My skillset is SQL (Expert), Python (intermediate), c# (basic).
The end goal of this project is to ingest the data from my devices to my own Azure Data Platform. Within the platform I can create machine learning algorithms to fully automate the control of the subsystems within the homes.

But I need to get at the data. Which is where (im hoping) you all can help me.

The project in question is a 3 bedroom semi-detached property, approx 110 sqm (1200sqft), if there’s some traction on this forum I’ll post a floor plan. The house is being rewired so I’ll have access to a qualified electrician.

The solution design initially will address 2 use cases but will be scalable to address other use cases that may appear.

1. Lumen-ary Automation - Motion detected light activation. Time-sensitive dimming. etc
  2. Heating Control - Automation of pnematic valves to heat rooms based on occupancy. (sign into room to trigger heating activation).
  3. Air Quality monitoring.

Everything else is a blank page.
Im attracted to WebThings because of its ability to run python scripts. I am familiar with the process of securely connecting to Azure via python so this is a massive upside for me.