New ro Mozilla/Firefox/Thunderbird

I’m new to them all as will quickly become obvious.I’m 76 years old, though still tech-friendly.

My queries could not be more basic and I’m confused by your use of tech-buzz words, Initials etc.

Regarding donations - I have a suggestion!

Ask members - particularly new ones like me - to lodge some money, say, $10, into a Mozilla account and each question, however basic, from me can be deducted from this account @ $2 per question.

Have you guys any idea just how frustrating it is, for a newbie like me, to know that there’s a lot of help from fellow members but, through inability or ignorance, I can’t do so!

James
beltupbaby@gnail.com

1 Like

Hey there!

I really like your donation idea! But I find the $2 per question rate a bit high. How about $1? Because many people here are volunteering to Mozilla because of Mozilla’s impact and goals to create a better, and safer tech environment and not because of money.

Everyone keeps learning every day, no matter how old or young that person is. You can help develop a better Mozilla community just by encouraging everyone and giving feedback!

Kind regards,

Bithiah

Thanks, Bithiah, especially for your speedy reply.

The Mozilla mission is indeed noble and praise-worthy is this commercially, profit-motivated and profit-seeking world. As I reflect on my own mindset my over-riding feeling, as a complete ignoramus, is of extreme frustration, bordering on annoyance and resignation, simply because I can’t interpret the help these volunteers are offering so generously and, presently, for free. They talk a tech-laden language, full of buzz words, initials etc which the beginner, like me, does not understand.
It is comforting that you say “everyone keeps learning every day” but, for me, the trick is for the volunteer to btiong himself/herself down to the level of the willing student. For example, have Mozilla thought about how to better improve this communication, like use uTube.