Remove active logins through extension

I’m looking at browser.browsingData and trying to figure out if active sessions (active logins) can be removed somehow. Similar to clearing cookies or download history can…

Hi @hinko.kocevar and welcome to the community :wave:

To maintain a session there needs to be some kind of token to be exchanged. Since this token has to be saved somewhere I think clearing cookies and localStorage should work to clear active sessions. I’m not an extension developer and therefore not sure if browsingData.removeLocalStorage() also clears the sessionStorage. (Another place where a login token could be saved).
I’ll move this topic to the “Add-ons Development” category since there are far more experienced people regarding Add-ons. :wink:

Have a nice day,
Michael

PS: Your email address is visible in your post. I think it somehow ended up in the optional “name” field of your profile. I recommend removing it.

Thanks Michael!

Here is what I’m facing and what I’m trying to do
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1372505#answer-1493408

Basically I want to invoke whatever happens when the “Active logins” is checked.
Screenshot at 2022-04-05 09-59-29-1

Ahh, we are talking about “basic authentication”.
I guess that would be browsingData.removePasswords(). That’s the one thing making the most sense when comparing the browsingData methods with the options in the “Clear History” dialog.

If nobody more knowledgeable than me will answer, I think your best bet is to test those methods in your extension. Make sure to test on a new Firefox profile to not accidentally delete other stuff.

After some more debugging I narrowed down the necessary checkboxes that need to be selected in the ‘Clear all history’ dialog for me to get logged out:

• Active logins
  • Cookies

(clearing the history for only or the other does not do the job)

I presume that the extension equivalent JS would then be: