We have an old extension in a XUL format. We prepared new WebExt build and during the manual test of updates (drag and drop into the browser over the current extension) we got a notification that this extension require a list of permissions.
The main question is what will happen to existing users of extension if they click Cancel on this notification? Or probably the automatic update from the server will happen in silent mode without any notifications?
In chrome, the extension is disabled automatically until the user approves the request for the new permission. We had this experience and we lost a lot of users.
And another question - if user clicked Cancel on the permissions notification, will he got an request to install update later? Or he will not be able to update it automatically anymore?