CoolPreviews: Replacement suggestions (or help saving code to file)

CoolPreviews is no longer supported by the developer (the Cool Iris team has been acquired by Yahoo for iPhone shtuff). This qualifies as a “major drag!”

Can anyone offer help by either:

1.) suggesting a good/suitable replacement browser extension
2.) provide advice as to how I can locate the CoolPreviews code & save it to file for (re)installation after moving to Windows 10. (I haven’t been able to find code/extension/add-on file saving solutions in the Firefox support forums.)

Regarding option 2.) I’m not experienced in coding, etc. I’ve located specific reference to CoolPreviews in Firefox “about:config” text, but I can’t figure out what (if anything) I can do with it. I haven’t been able to identify any specific reference to the CoolPreviews extension within the Mozilla Firefox program files visible on my HDD.

Thanks

1 Like

I’m not sure what the addon is. Can you provide the link to it on AMO?

Thanks for your reply, arenlor;

No links to the CoolPreviews extension in AMO I’m afraid, as the previous url ( https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/coolpreviews/?src=api ) yields a “Not Found” message.

CoolPreviews allows/allowed the user to hover the cursor over a link within a web page to generate an onscreen target. Clicking the target then opened up an overlay window that displayed the web page pointed to by the link that was hovered. It’s a terriffic way for gaining quick access to info that’s a valuable referrence for fuller comprehension of the original web page content.

CoolPreviews has/had additional functionality, such as opening the overlay page to a full-on Firefox page/tab; add the overlay page to a stack of overlay pages/tabs; hover the cursor over a 2nd (3rd, 4th … etc.) link to overwrite the existing overlay window with content from the page pointed to by the 2nd (3rd, 4th … etc.) link; other functions as well.