Could I do that with deepspeech?

I want to get and audio input and print on the screen

Could I do that with deepspeech ?

I am a dev, I can write python even if it’s not my primary language, but I’m new en deep learning and STT

At the end I want do to it with a raspberry, but I have trouble to add a good audio jack sound input, since the rapsberry does not have it builtin, but I’s a hardware question, and I can go to odroid or other like this if I have something working.

I will do my test on my computer (ubuntu), with the standard audio mic input

Thanks

ps: if I cannot, what can I use ?

Have a really nice day :slight_smile:

Yes. The examples for Deepspeech show a way to do this, you can customize on your own with python as well.
https://deepspeech.readthedocs.io/en/latest/USING.html#using-the-command-line-client

1 Like

Just take a look at https://github.com/mozilla/DeepSpeech/blob/master/native_client/python/client.py to re-implement this as you like.

There are bindings in other languages, so you can write in C, C++, JS, .Net, …

1 Like

thanks for your response, and sorry for the long delay :wink:

I have tested with the nodejs from mic test founded in the deepspeech-example repo on gituhb.

With the french model from commonvoice-fr (and thanks by the way :slight_smile: )

But, I think I was mistaken in the way I want to use it, my goal is to use it as real time transcripter for video calls (with jitsi for example), so I guess I have to figure out how to listen the audio before it get to the output device.

I have been unable to run the py mic example, but, perhaps my python settings zas not good, I use pycharm, and it’s python3.8, I have not spend much time to debug, my first try is to figure out if the model is accurate enough to use it for real life conversation

Have a look at streaming examples.

can you point a specific example ?
Because what i’m using first was the mic streaming