DS18B20 as webthing

Hi
I am very interested in using the ds18b20 temperature sensor connected to a Raspberry-pi as part of the Mozilla IOT webthings. I am new to Mozilla IOT and a novice with Raspberry-pi and would like to use a ds18b20, which I have connected to the GPIO of the Raspberry-Pi pin 7, as a IOT webthing.
Do any existing add-ons or webthing have this capability?
Thanks Peter

I’m not aware of any existing add-ons. There are 2 ways that this could be done.
1 - Create an addon which talks to the ds18b20
2 - Create a standalone server which advertises itself as a webthing. We have libraries for a variety of languages that does most of the standalone server portion, and then you just need to plug in the code which interfaces with the ds18b20. This server could run on the same raspberry pi as the gateway.

A lot can depend on the environment as well…

For example: are you planning to hook-up the DS18B20 to the RPI you’re running the gateway from or a totally separate device? If the latter, the RPI would be wasted on it if it doesn’t serve other purposes… If it’s only task would be to read and forward that 1 sensor’s data, you’re better off with and ESP8266 or any other Arduino based, WiFi enabled micro controller…
If you are planning to tie the sensor to the gateway directly, a NodeJS or Python based local service (WebThing implementation) would be your best bet.

You’ve already found my library for the ESP8266/ESP32/Arduino implementation :smiley:

Hi thanks for the reply and suggestions for a way forward with my project.
I am building a Swimming pool solar heating controller and elected to go with standalone ESP8266 servers which advertises themselves as webthings.
After a lot of reading up on webthing examples and the creation of many test sketches, I eventually created a working solution using DS18B20 sensors.
I have a rooftop temp sensor and a pool water temp sensor communicating with my Pi Zero W which in turn switches a relay to control the pool pump.