Favorite WebExtensions?


(yoasif) #64

If Leechblock is not yet ported by the time 57 rolls around, Monastery is a pale imitation of it.


(yoasif) #65

If Ant is not yet ported by the time 57 rolls around, Video Downloader professional is an alternative.


(yoasif) #66

Image Zoom to Zoom Image.


(yoasif) #67

AutoClose Tabs: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/autoclose-tabs/

to

Dustman - AutoClose Tabs https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/dustman/


(yoasif) #68

Auto Close Tab https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/auto-close-tab/

to

Blacklist AutoClose https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/blacklist-autoclose/


(yoasif) #69

Vimperator https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/vimperator/

to

Vimium-FF https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/vimium-ff/ or Saka Key https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/saka-key/

Session Manager https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/session-manager/

to

Tab Session Manager https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/tab-session-manager/


Concern about WebExtensions exclusive strategy from add-on authors and users
(yoasif) #70

Greasemonkey https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/greasemonkey/

to

Violentmonkey https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/violentmonkey/

The easiest Xdebug https://addons.mozilla.org/en-gb/firefox/addon/the-easiest-xdebug/

to

Xdebug Helper for Firefox https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/xdebug-helper-for-firefox/


(yoasif) #71

rikaichan https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/rikaichan/

to

Yomichan https://addons.mozilla.org/En-us/firefox/addon/yomichan/

Edit Cookies https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/edit-cookies/

to

EditThisCookie https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/editthiscookieaddon/ or
Cookie Manager https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/a-cookie-manager/


(yoasif) #72

Vertical Tabs (Simplified) https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/vertical-tabs-simplified/

to

Tab Center Redux https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/tab-center-redux/ or Tree Style Tab https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/tree-style-tab/

Cloud To Butt Plus https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/cloud-to-butt-plus/

to

Text Rewriter https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/text-rewriter/


(yoasif) #73

Linky https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/linky/ Link Ninja https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/link-ninja/ Multi Links Plus https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/multi-links-plus/

to

FoxyLink https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/foxylink/ or Snap Links Plus https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/snaplinksplus/


#74

Violentmonkey loads on Android but doesn’t work, BTW.


(erosman) #75

Not a replacement but the Location Flag has been included in FoxyTab

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/foxytab/

As an alternative to:
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/flagfox/


(Brian Birtles) #76

Please add Rikaichamp (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/rikaichamp/) as an alternative for rikaichan (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/rikaichan/).

I realize that yomichan is already listed as an alternative but I believe Rikaichamp is closer in behavior and performance to rikaichan (it is based on the Chrome extension port of rikaichan) so it should be listed as well.


(Graham Perrin) #77

@sdevaney and colleagues: I know, about:addons in 56.x is probably not your area, but please:

  • do you know whether the blue Find a replacement button will appear in any release of 56?

It’s the logical successor to the shouted yellow alert (LEGACY).

(Superb work on the new front end, by the way. Big thanks.)


Recommending replacements where legacy is favoured

From https://github.com/mozilla/addons-server/issues/6674#issuecomment-336993704 (2017-10-16):

… the preferred place is the discourse thread, where you can also check if others have made similar suggestions, and it takes less time to monitor.

:+1:

Thanks folks.

Side note: I’m a participant in the Favorite WebExtensions? topic but never mentioned FireTitle there, because it’s a legacy extension and I’m mindful to not put things in the WebExtensions-focused topic unless they’re true personal favourites.

So, for example, I favour legacy FireTitle but with respect to the developer, Crappy Firetitle is the found replacement :slight_smile:


If I find any others, I’ll add them here.


(Juraj Masiar) #78

Hello,
I would like to suggest my GroupSpeedDial:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/groupspeeddial/

As an replacement for Speed Dial:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/speed-dial/

Thank you :slight_smile:


(YFdyh000) #79

Will appears if set the extensions.legacy.enabled to false.


(Andrei Petcu) #80

The finder recommends alternatives to web extensions. It should not.

The list was made some time ago and the legacy extensions have been turned into WebExtensions. There is no use in recommending WebExtension alternatives to WebExtensions. Can there be a check if the extensions are still legacy or not?


(sdevaney) #81

Thanks for flagging this. Since a spreadsheet feeds that “finder” page it’s entirely possible it lists some extensions that were legacy that have since become WebExtensions. I can review the entire list but if you know of any specific cases please feel free to let me know. Thanks again!


(sdevaney) #82

Good suggestion. I’ve amended to make Group Speed Dial the replacement rec.


#83

Could you also add Search by Image to the extension finder for reverse image searches?

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/search_by_image/