How did it all start?

I’d like to know when an how did you first get involved volunteering for mozilla and a short or long story about your journey to the council…

2 Likes

I have been using Firefox since 1.0 launch, keep pestering my friends to use it and in sorta of way that was my first involvement as a volunteer with Mozilla, time after that, i joined a pilot program known as Mozilla Student Reps (like FSA) this program then was converted into Mozilla Reps, it was @williamq who told me to join Reps and as i did i went into the amazing world of that we know, later after that i was invited to be a Mentor to share my experiences and knowledge with other Reps, and after a couple of years i finally decided to jump into the Council challenge, i would like to say that it was all thanks to my mentor @deimidis @pierros and @williamq and many others, that i’m here today :smile:

2 Likes

I was an engineer on Netscape 8, the AOL Netscape (pauses for boos) , which actually had two rendering engines: Firefox and IE. That was the big idea - that the user could switch between rendering engines for content that wouldn’t work in one or the other :smiley:

I filed my first bugs during that project, and stayed involved either passively or more actively ever since. I became most activated through Bespin (now cloud writer), Drumbeat and finally Webmaker teaching, which is my favourite. I became a Rep to have tools/swag to run events and teach in schools, and just never looked back. Mentoring is a way to help other people, and helping with council is a way to give back to a program that gave me so much.

2 Likes

Back in 2004 I was already hanging out on the Spanish support forums for Firefox and I saw the mozilla-europe site wasn’t fully in Spanish so I contacted Pascal and he put me in contact with @stripTM who was helping with localization.