I do not understand how to use deepspeech on windows (if it is possible at all)

This might have been mentioned elsewhere, but I cannot seem to find an answer and since I am new to this, I need to ask: How does one use deepspeech on Windows? Assuming I do not want to use vitrtual machines running Linux, is there any way I can use the python bindings? I read somewhere that I need to comile it myself, but I would like to avoid that. I also read something about nuget packages, which I have downloaded, yet have no idea how to use. Is it possible to enter a command line prompt like: deepspeech --model models\output_graph.pbmm --alphabet models\alphabet.txt --lm models\lm.binary --trie models\trie --audio speech.wav

All relevant material I have stumbled upon did not help me at all. Could someone please clarify how one can get deepspeech to work on windows without compiling and/or retraining? Thank you!

Hi,

Unfortunately, you can’t use this in Windows. I have a Windows machine, so I had to go with the virtual machine (or partitioning the Linux system). It ultimately works out fine though. Although you can’t use a GPU on virtual machine – for GPU you’d have to partition. I’m about two weeks new to this as well, so I haven’t used python bindings.

Either way, the people who mainly respond to these forums have told people that Mozilla DeepSpeech only supports Mac and Linux systems, so I’m guessing that Windows doesn’t have much of a workaround…

Hello @jfenigan

Well there’s a middle situation here, when 0.4.1 was released the Windows compilation was late introduced, most of the work for the bindings was after the release of 0.4.1, then changes to the model and the bindings made the bindings incompatible with 0.4.1 model, notice that the model for 0.5 is not released yet.By the date 0.4.1 version was released I think the only client working for it was the .NET client.