Javascript Developer - Unable to get properly functioning "$" function

Hi Mozilla Community,

I am a Javascript Developer and I need a bit of help. This is my first time in a very long time contacting technical support. Please bare with me as I explain my situation. I recommend that someone that is familiar with Javascript and the browser console help test this issue.

I try to create a function in the browser console on a very blank html file. I created a function using the following code “const $ = $ => $”. When I called the function with the following code “$(‘test’)” I would get a return of “null”. What is expected to return is “test”. I have tested other browsers and it would seem to work perfectly fine. These browsers include: Edge, Chrome, Epiphany. I have also tried creating a function like so “const a = a => a”. Then I called the function like this “a(‘test’)”. The result would be “test”.

I had also asked a developer friend of mine to test this out and nothing is wrong on his end. I cannot recall what machine my friend runs but I know it does not run Linux. I wouldn’t know well enough but my suspicions lie with the Linux version of Firefox. I have also tried uninstalling and reinstalling Firefox from my computer the results seem to remain the same.

I will attach images for a visual of the situation. I will also leave some specs that might be of concern down below.

Here are my computer specs:

LMDE 4 (debbie) x86_64
Kernel: 4.19.0-14-amd64
Shell: bash 5.0.3
Resolution: 2560x1080
DE: Cinnamon 4.8.6
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700 (16) @ 3.000GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Memory: 6153MiB / 64414MiB

Firefox Version: 78.9.0esr (64bit)

Please get back to me,
Terrance Banh

Note: This is a copy of my post found in the link here. Thanks to jscher2000 for recommending me to post here.

Hey,