"Marking up a letter" assesment

Hello everyone

Im new in coding, trying to learn on my own from home. Spent till now 2 weaks of learning HTML and little CSS.
I would be glad to hear from you criticism of my work, to improve my skills.

Thank’s.

<head>

<meta charset="utf-8">

<meta name="author" content="Miss Eileen Dover">

<link rel="stylesheet" href="styles/style.css">

</head>

<body>

<header>                        <br>                                          

<div class="sender-column">

<strong>Dr. Eleanor Gaye</strong><br>

<address>Awesome Science faculty<br>

University of Awesome<br>

Bobtown, CA 99999,<br>

USA<br>

<b>Tel</b>: 123-456-7890<br>

<b>Email</b>: no_reply@example.com<br>

<br>

</address>

<time datetime="2016-01-20">20 January 2016</time><br>                            

</div>

<b>Miss Eileen Dover</b><br>

<address>4321 Cliff Top Edge<br>

Dover, CT9 XXX<br>

UK

</address>      

</header>

<h1>Re: Eileen Dover university application</h1>

<p>Dear Eileen,<br>

<br>

Thank you for your recent application to join us at the University of Awesome's science faculty to study as part<br>

of your <abbr title="Philosophie Doctor">PhD</abbr> next year. I will answer your questions one by one, in the following sections.</p>

<main>

<article>

<h2>Starting dates</h2>

<p>We are happy to accommodate you starting your study with us at any time, however it would suit us better if you<br>

could start at the beginning of a <u>semester;</u> the start dates for each one are as follows:

<ul>

<li><time datetime="2017-09-15">First semester: 9 September 2016</time></li>

<li><time datetime="2017-01-15">Second semester: 15 January 2017</time></li>

<li><time datetime="2017-5-02">Third semester: 2 May 2017</time></li>

</ul>

Please let me know if this is ok, and if so which start date you would prefer.<br>

<br>

You can find more information about <a href="http://example.com">important university dates</a> on our website.</p>

</article>

<article>