New to the TTS field and i have some questions (about the necessary data)

first: Sorry if this forum is not meant for people to ask general questions regarding the speech synthesis/TTS field. This is basically the only active forum on TTS i found and where i can ask some (basic) questions.

So yeah, basically I’m relatively new to the TTS field and i have a questions about the data. Most datasets seem too be existing out of either a single speaker, or multiple speakers and then clearly annotated which speaker said which sentence.
why is this? will a model underprerform drastically when I would just train using a dataset with multiple speakers and not using a one-hot encoding vector as amazon did.

I already played around with mozilla deepspeech (STT) before and here the model was able to get text from the MFCC no matter what speaker said it. But for TTS it seems that the other way around seems to be harder to generalize for multiple speakers, why is this? Or how could i fix this problem when i don’t know which reader said which sentence?

Thank you in advance !

ps: i would also appreciate if poeple post papers or relevant links to this problem or just general introductions to TTS since i do not seem to succes into finding a very in depth documentation about TTS to lecture myself (all i can fins are papers of models, but none about the whole process and the important details to keep in mind )

Hi @Plato - I think this is a perfectly reasonable thing to ask about. Whilst it’s general, this kind of discussion seems useful for people using the TTS repo.

First to address your PS:
If you want some relevant papers on TTS, then there’s a great repo listing several key ones here:

Those are academic papers - several of them will include links to samples and often GitHub repos for the authors own code. In a few notable cases the models covered have been implemented in the TTS repo.