Sharing an Experience - What could I do better?

Hello all! :smile:

Last night we had the first post in the Buddies forum of a new contributor after the re-launching of the Buddy Program. The new contributor (trainee) is Kat A. Klettke located in Germany. She posted in the forum as per the New Contributors - Start Here! thread.

I want to share my experience with the rest of you asking for your feedback. Here are the steps I made (with some comments/thoughts of mine):

1. I posted a response to her post welcoming her and promising that I would send her a PM with more info/details. (This automatically made me her assigned “Buddy”)

2. I studied her post and extracted any info I could from it, to make my response PM to her as personalized as possible. (I have a standard template of “Welcoming New Contributors” which I modify, to tailor it to the needs of each contributor, which I can share with anyone interested).

3. In her post she said that she was interested in Translation, Support and Coding.

4. I sent her the PM offering her as possible ways of interaction:

• Responding to my PM (asynchronous)
  • Meeting me on IRC channels where I spend most of my time (#AoA, #Buddies) (synchronous)
  1. She, soon after, came online IRC and we had a long friendly chat (chat log is available here).

2. She started by saying she felt “lost” because she started doing exploration on her own (about localization) and she ended up on pages that were dead-ends for her. She was kind of confused as to if a Mozillian and Persona is the same thing. She said that she started a new Mozillian profile which needed to be vouched.

3. When we started talking about what she was interested in, I offered the following info:

• Localization: She informed me that she had already sent a PM to the German Localization Team Leader. I told her I could get her in touch with the Localization team for them to give her help in her first steps.