Transfer Learning / Model Refinement to change LJSpeech

Greetings folks!
I am new to AI and learning stuff online and trying to fiddle around with whats available in GitHub and Colab. Also doing the fast.ai free online course to get a better understanding.

The above preamble was meant to explain why my question below may seem noobish.

I am interested in eventually using a pre-trained model and refining it to learn a different voice which would be used for TTS. Its a purely personal project so I don’t have any quality standards to adhere to.

My question is how does one go about achieving both of the following through model refinement (assuming i’m using a pre-trained LJSpeech model, and have adequate speech samples of the other voices)

1. Changing the voice to, using someone famous as an example, Dennis Quaid
    and simultaneously
  2. Changing the delivery to, again using someone famous as an example, Morgan Freeman.

Therefore, the output would be a refined voice TTS voice that sounds like Dennis but speaks with the cadence and delivery of Morgan.

Is it actually possible to achieve that through transfer learning?

Or, is this only possible to do by training a model from scratch on Morgan and then transfer learn to Dennis’ voice?

thanks!!

It works yes, I have done it. The dataset has to be relatively high quality and the duration of it should be approximately 6 hours and, after that, it took me 8 hours to fit.

Hi and thanks for the feedback George. That is very encouraging.

I think I should be able to put together 6 hours each of both voices

Can you also help me understand the sequence you applied to get good results. Is it the following:
Step 1: Identify Training base: lJSpeech (i would use the Tacotron 260K model as the starting point)
Step 2: Train/refine model against new voice 1 for about 8 hours to adapt prosody
Step 3: Train/refine against new voice 2 for about 8 hours to get new voice/pitch