WebExtension Seasonal Theme

After looking at (dynamic-theme) I had an idea.

“Wouldn’t it be cool if you could have a different theme for each season and wouldn’t it be even cooler if the seasonal theme changed depending upon whether or not it was daytime or nighttime?”

Since I thought this would indeed be cool the next step was to put a prototype together. This GitHub repository (all-seasons-theme-webext) is the result.

This is my first attempt at creating a WebExtension so I am sure it is rough around the edges, but I welcome feedback, just please, keep it civil and remember I am still learning.

Please excuse and forgive me if this topic was posted in the wrong section. My thinking was that this relates more to Add-on Development (specifically WebExtensions) than to Themes even though this is asking about a WebExtension Theme.

3 Likes

I’d suggest to add a feature to let the user choose when they want the season to switch. Either by date pickers (the native ones probably won’t work in the options page yet, unless that’s been fixed) or to switch by astromomical equinox or meteorological definitions (~20th march vs. 1st march).

The other big thing would be to provide selectors for user installed lightweight themes as alternative to the default season themes. You can get all themes and change themes using the management API.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply and insights @freaktechnik. I hadn’t even looked at management API yet, but I will now.

My confusion with seasonal themes comes from wanting to display them properly (right season at right time) for the Northern and Southern Hemispheres. Your suggestion of user choice sounds like it could simplify this quite a bit.

Again, many thanks for your reply and insight @freaktechnik.

1 Like

just a idea collection (based on and detailing what i imagine under the things @freaktechnik mentioned):

give the user an option to specify in what location/timezone he/she is.