[Announcement:] The new Community Participation Guidelines have arrived


(Lizz Noonan) #1

Greetings all!

I am excited to announce that after many months of revisions, the new version of Mozilla’s Community Participation Guidelines are live on Mozilla.org.

The revision came from years of community feedback and is in direct response to the Diversity and Inclusion Team’s research findings that the CPG needed to become more clear and actionable.

The revision was written and reviewed by a cross-functional team of Mozillians, then reviewed and approved by Mozilla leadership, and finally, shared with community members in multiple forums including public blog posts, Discourse, Activate campaigns, and social media. Extensive feedback was collected and incorporated into the final draft.

Please take a few minutes to review the revised CPG and the wiki support page. Then, reply with anything you’d like to discuss here on Discourse and send any feedback or questions to inclusion@mozilla.com.

The week of June 19, the Diversity and Inclusion Team will be hosting three timezone-friendly Brownbags on Air Mozilla and Vidyo (Inclusion Room) – please attend to learn more about the new CPG and the revision process, as well as ask any questions you may have.

Schedule:
Americas: Monday 19 June, 1 pm PT / 4 pm ET / 8 pm UTC
Europe, Middle East, Africa: Wednesday 21 June, 7 am PT/ 2 pm UTC / 4 pm CET
Asia/Pacific: Wednesday 21 June, 3 am UTC / 12 pm JST / 8 pm PT

Also, in H2 2017, we’ll be coming to a location near you to host in person, interactive workshops around the CPG – more info on that coming soon.


(Lizz Noonan) #2

Thanks Geraldo! To expand, the CPG is currently available in Portuguese (Brazil), Spanish (Spain), Chinese (Traditional), German, French, and English. The dropdown to change the language is at the bottom of the page, in the footer.

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/about/governance/policies/participation/