Training suddenly dropping in quality

I’ve been trying to fine-tune the LJSpeech dataset (from the Tacotron-iter-260k branch) on a dataset of about 8 hours with a single male speaker. The dataset is good quality, the right frequency for the config, clean (no applauses or other noises in the background) and doesn’t have long pauses between sentences (at most 1 second).
After about 14 hours of fine-tuning, the model suddenly dropped in quality dramatically (see the alignment charts).

At around 1AM:

Afterwards:

I’m not exactly sure what happened and what would cause this, perhaps overfitting?
I’ve tried to synthesize some sentences using the last “good” checkpoint but it can only manage a few short words, not a full sentence.
I’m very new to this thing so apologies if I’ve missed something obvious.

Hi, does your license allow you to post dataset samples? What is the r in the config file? Maybe you can try training with a higher r, so if it is 2 try with 3. Because 8 hours should be enough when transfer learning.

Hey, thanks for the reply!
Sadly I’m not allowed to post dataset samples but let’s just say they’re nowhere close the LJSpeech dataset from the example notebooks, they’re very “robotic”.
The r value is 1, I’ll try with 3 instead and see if it improves things, thank you!

For reference, the config.json I used is:

{
“github_branch”:“dev-tacotron2”,
“restore_path”:"…/tts_models/best_model.pth.tar",
“run_name”: “my run”,
“run_description”: “finetune my run”,
“audio”:{
// Audio processing parameters
“num_mels”: 80, // size of the mel spec frame.
“num_freq”: 1025, // number of stft frequency levels. Size of the linear spectogram frame.
“sample_rate”: 22050, // wav sample-rate. If different than the original data, it is resampled.
“frame_length_ms”: 50, // stft window length in ms.
“frame_shift_ms”: 12.5, // stft window hop-lengh in ms.
“preemphasis”: 0.98, // pre-emphasis to reduce spec noise and make it more structured. If 0.0, no -pre-emphasis.