Unable to use codepen or jsfiddle in translated MDN document

Hi,

I am a volunteer translator from China. When I try to translate the document of linear-gradient(), I found that the codepen/jsfiddle code snippet cannot be applied to the translated page. Like below,

The same problem happens on Japanese version and Korean version, as well. I am not sure whether it is a bug or my mistakenly delete something.

Could you please help me to check it?

Thanks a lot.

Best Regards,

Yuxuan He

Hi @kmokidd,

This part of the page is automatically generated by a “macro” (actually, if you switch to edit mode, you’ll see something with {{EmbedLiveSample(...)}}).
This macro takes a parameter to create the codepen/jsfiddle and live sample. This parameter is the culprit here: it should be the id of the closest heading element that encloses every code block (whether it’s HTML / CSS or JS) necessary for the example.

To be honest, if you’re working on a new translation, you can’t do anything but guess the ID. If the page has been generated with the headings, your best option is to switch to “Source mode” and get the ID there.

All of this is documented here: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/MDN/Contribute/Structures/Live_samples

I hope this helps, please tell me if you need help doing this :slight_smile:
Respectfully,
Julien / Sphinx

Hi there Yuxuan He,

Very nice to hear from you.

I can help you with this. In the English version, let’s look at the first embedded sample as an example. There are two things you need to do, in each case.

The macro call that creates the live sample is this:

{{EmbedLiveSample(“Gradient_at_a_45-degree_angle”)}}

what it does is grab the code in the section of the document underneath the heading with an ID of “Gradient_at_a_45-degree_angle”, and embed the rendered result inside an <iframe>.

If you look at the source code of the document, you’ll be able to find these. There is a heading above the embedded example like so: