User Agent with Greek characters

Using Firefox Developer Edition version 58.0b4, I tried all User Agent Switcher plugins that allow you to enter a custom user agent string and with non of them I managed to set the user agent to one that contains Greek characters.

This is possible with the plugins that exist for Firefox 56 and Chrome.

I also got the user-agent-rewriter plugin that MDN provides as an example in its webextensions-examples repository on Github, but again, if I enter any Greek characters as a user agent, my user-agent string is ignored and Firefox uses the default user agent.

Is this on purpose, or is it a bug?

The first question is: are Greek characters allowed in a UAS? I don’t know, but take a look at the answers to https://stackoverflow.com/questions/10384741/is-a-unicode-user-agent-legal-inside-an-http-header.

I don’t think Greek is in ISO-8859-1. But that thread is 5 years old so the RFC mentioned may have been superseded. It may need encoding in some way.

Greek is not in ISO-8859-1.

But even if there was such a rule, should Firefox enforce it even when the user wants to use something else? Other browsers (and previous versions of Firefox) do not do this.

RFCs define the internet standards against which all browsers are, or should be, designed. IF the relevant RFC states that the UAS should be ISO-8859-1 (I don’t know whether it does) then I would expect Firefox - or any addon dealing with UAS - to enforce that. It’s not a sensible idea to send an invalid UAS to a webserver - at best it will ignore it.

Just for my information, do you think that a Greek UAS is valid? Have you ever seen a Greek UAS?

No, I never seen Greek in a user agent (apart from my own).

But if Windows Firefox can claim that is Safari on an iPhone or have “asdzdfsadf” as user agent, then I don’t see why I can’t have Greek in a user agent, especially when this can be done with all other browsers including older Firefox.