This file has been truncated. show original
- Feature Name: Private Projects
- Created: 2020-02-10
- Associated Bug: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1602490
Add an option to make a project "private", restricting who can see it and interact with it.
It can be useful in some cases to be able to hide a project from users. For example, when a project manager creates a new project, they might want to make sure that everything is correctly set up before exposing it — running sync, verifying that it is enabled for the right locales, etc. In such a case, the project being hidden from everyone but project managers is enough. Once the project manager is done with configuration, they simply make the project public.
For a different use-case, let's consider an agency working with several clients. They have a number of projects created on Pontoon, and they want to have specific localizers working on specific projects. It would be beneficial for them to be able to restrict seeing a project to only a defined list of users. This requires being able to mark a project as private, and also having a configuration option to select a list of users who will be able to see, and interact, with that project. That would allow for a clear separation of projects, reducing the risk of localizers translating the wrong set of projects.
# Feature explanation
When creating or editing a project, a superadmin has two new options:
- a simple selectbox to make the project private or public (private by default);
- a "selected users" formset controlling which users can see the project when it is private.