Invaluable developer extensions no longer available

OK. So I admit it. I am here because I am very unhappy with the way quantum has dropped support for extensions.

A lot of people are so just get over it and pay attention to why I am upset.

As a developer I found I relied on some extensions very heavily while a lot of the “kitch” extensions have been ported, for me the useful ones have not been and potentially cannot be due to the changes in quantum. This not only makes my day harder and more time consuming but also saddens me as to how Mozilla dumped its developer base to become another me too browser.

Mozilla does not and never will have the marketing power of google or microsoft. It is both foolish and egotistical to consider it can compete in the me too browser wars.

So why this forum? Well I came here hoping to find a developer enhanced version of firefox. Instead to my extreme disappointment I find a beta version of mainstream firefox. So its not designed for developers its actually just a way to get developers to help test a beta version.

How honest is that? Is this the new honesty bar in Mozilla? its a pretty low one.

So for the curious the extensions I so sorely miss are:

• DNSFlusher
  • JS Switch
  • Saved password editor
  • Profile switcher
  • User agent switcher
  • NoRedirect

There are of course few more but each of the above saved me precious minutes each day adding up to many hours.

I am sure everyone has their favourite extensions for the way they work. The above are just some of mine.

If you are a developer and haven’t used the above extensions I advise you try them in waterfox while you still can, without mainstream support waterfox can only continue for so long.

I am so disappointed with Mozilla.

1 Like

I don’t see Developer Edition as being about Firefox testing at all. Instead, it allows developers to get new DevTools features more rapidly than if you wait for them to hit Release.