Lessons from MozFest for Community Education

Please share here anything that’s related to/useful for/even remotely about community education portal from MozFest.

Even if you think something’s not useful for the portal, it might be a good idea to write it down here because there might be a way someone else could remix that and make it useful.

Also, what interesting conversations did you have in MozFest about the portal?

Anything goes here…

2 Likes

Daniele and Greg have some interesting insights.

There are people who contribute to Mozilla like this. Mostly coders, I think. They can do a large number of things, if those things strike a chord with them. They look at those things as learning opportunities. I’ve been like this too. I fix bugs if I want to learn how that component works.

Getting down with github Etherpad with all the material online

This is a treasure trove of github things.

I’m a programmer and I talk very often as a coach instead I need to simplify my talk when I talk to an audience like this. Type remove unnecessary text, simplify the concepts and put pictures that focus attention.

[…] Good Leaders = Good Teacher […]

Also the talk it confirmed that the project passopasso.mte90.net (in italian) is a good idea because they give users the tools to make them self-help to get busy and engage in the project. The same session made me think of new features to this portal.

@Mte90, I’m curious. What does passopasso do? (Can’t figure out the Italian. Is it like bugsahoy?)

Btw, your slides on dev tools are awesome!

countries like Italy where they still do not have a broadband connection, open data are something little-known and where digital literacy stops at Whatsapp